FP now includes 4215 eBooks in its collection.

  main page

Scenes of Clerical Life, Vol. II

Cover Image

Book Details

Title:Scenes of Clerical Life, Vol. II
Evans, Mary Anne  Writing under the pseudonym: Eliot, George   
(2 of 3 for author by title)
Silas Marner: The Weaver of Raveloe
Scenes of Clerical Life, Vol. I
Thomson, Hugh   
(3 of 4 for author by title)
Silas Marner: The Weaver of Raveloe
Scenes of Clerical Life, Vol. I
Published:   1858
Publisher:William Blackwood and Sons
Tags:fiction, historical, literature, short stories

Three short stories published over the course of 1857 before being sold together in volume form in 1858. The stories share a setting—the fictional town of Milby—and some interest in a (different) clergyman working in the area. ‘The Sad Fortunes of the Reverend Amos Barton’ is the tale of a man who fails to appreciate his wife until it is too late, ‘Mr Gilful’s Love-Story’ is about the unexpectedly dramatic early love affair of a now single and unremarkable clergyman, and ‘Janet’s Repentance’ considers the suffering of an abused wife who turns first to alcohol, but then to the religious comfort of evangelical preacher Mr Tryan.—The Secret Victorianist. [Suggest a different description.]

Pages:199 Info

Available Formats

UTF-8 text   20180402.txt
PDF (tablet)20180402-a5.pdf
HTML Zip20180402-h.zip

This book is in the public domain in Canada, and is made available to you DRM-free. You may do whatever you like with this book, but mostly we hope you will read it.

Here at FadedPage and our companion site Distributed Proofreaders Canada, we pride ourselves on producing the best ebooks you can find. Please tell us about any errors you have found in this book, or in the information on this page about this book.