FP now includes 7888 eBooks in its collection.

  main page

The Secret of the Red Scarf (Kay Tracey Mysteries #1)

Cover Image

Spine Image

Book Details

Title:The Secret of the Red Scarf (Kay Tracey Mysteries #1)
Ward, Elizabeth Mildred Duffield  Writing under the pseudonym: Judd, Frances K.   
(2 of 3 for author by title)
The Strange Echo (Kay Tracey Mysteries #2)
Rose's Great Problem (Blythe Girls #3)
Published:   1934
Publisher:Garden City Books
Tags:fiction, mystery, young adult

Kay Tracey regards the pale young man in electrified silence when he stares at her and cries out, "Sis! Sis! At last I've found you!" These strange words are the beginning of a baffling search by Kay for clues that will restore the memory of the appealing youth to whom she gives the nickname of Bro. This unexpected guest in the Tracey household, a victim of total amnesia, knows only that he must find his beautiful sister Helene.

Kay's striking resemblance to the missing girl is to lead her through many risky episodes, but the young sleuth is determined, even against threats, to assist the unhappy boy. The Secret of the Red Scarf: Kay has few clues. Why does Bro become frantic upon catching sight of a red scarf Kay plans to wear to a masquerade? And after its disappearance, Kay is plunged even deeper into the dangerous mystery. Her goal is to disprove certain sinister accusations, about which she learns, against Bro and Helene and to bring the brother and sister together.--Goodreads. [Suggest a different description.]

Pages:238 Info

Author Bio for Ward, Elizabeth Mildred Duffield

Elizabeth M. Duffield Ward (1895-1983), was the daughter of John William Duffield (1859-1946) and a prolific writer for the Stratemeyer Syndicate. She wrote the first two of the 18 Kay Tracey mysteries, a series which ran from 1934 to 1942 and was created in response to the popularity of Nancy Drew.

In addition to her own Lucille Payton series (1915-1918), between 1916 and 1936, she wrote 71 manuscripts for the Stratemeyer Syndicate, including the fourth and final volume in the Radio Girls series (1922-23), the Ruth Fielding series (writing as Alice B. Emerson), the Billie Bradley series (writing as Janet D. Wheeler), and the Outdoor Girls series. She also wrote for the Syndicate the entire Blythe Girls series under the pseudonym of Laura Lee Hope.

Available Formats

UTF-8 text   20200219.txt
Epub20200219.epubIf you cannot open a .mobi file on your mobile device, please use .epub with an appropriate eReader.
Mobi/Kindle20200219.mobiInfoNot all Kindles or Kindle apps open all .mobi files.
PDF (tablet)20200219-a5.pdf
HTML Zip20200219-h.zip

Kindle Direct (New, Experimental)

Send this book direct to your kindle via email. We need your Send-to-Kindle Email address, which can be found by looking in your Kindle device’s Settings page. All kindle email addresses will end in @kindle.com. Note you must add our email server’s address, [email protected], to your Amazon account’s Approved E-mail list. This list may be found on your Amazon account: Your AccountManage Your Content and DevicesPreferencesPersonal Document SettingsApproved Personal Document E-mail ListAdd a new approved e-mail address.

Send to Kindle Email Address:

This book is in the public domain in Canada, and is made available to you DRM-free. You may do whatever you like with this book, but mostly we hope you will read it.

Here at FadedPage and our companion site Distributed Proofreaders Canada, we pride ourselves on producing the best ebooks you can find. Please tell us about any errors you have found in this book, or in the information on this page about this book.